Playgrounds, aquatics facilities, recreation centers and sports fields remained closed to the public. Passive use of open space (including the Dog Park) is allowed, but please maintain physical distancing protocols. Tennis, paddle tennis and pickleball courts are open with advanced reservations only.  Lap swimming is also available at the El Segundo Wiseburn Aquatic Center with advanced reservation only. For updated information related to the City's response to COVID-19, Click here.

Commission, Committees & Boards

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Recreation & Parks Commission 

The Recreation & Parks Commission was established on March 23, 1938 by Resolution #448. It is composed of five members who must be residents of El Segundo. Commissioners serve with minimal compensation for four year terms without term limits. The Commission advises the City Council on all matters pertaining to recreation, parks, parkways and street trees. It makes recommendations to the City Council regarding level of service, policies and assists in implementing Recreation & Parks Department improvements and programs, including youth counseling, senior outreach, golf operations, City transportation, and acquisition and disposal of park property.

Date: The Commission meets on the third Wednesday of every month. 

Time: 6:00 p.m.
Location: City Hall Council Chamber
Staff Liaison: Jackie Day, Sr. Administrative Specialist, 310-524-2881

View live stream meetings here.

 Commission Members   
 Bob Motta  Chairperson 
 Lee Davis  Vice Chairperson 
 Dave Lubs Commissioner 
 Julie Stolnack Commissioner
 Kelly Watson Commissioner


Senior Citizen Housing Board Corporation

A non-profit corporation formed in 1984 for the construction of an affordable housing facility for seniors referred to as "Park Vista." The Board was established in 1986 to actively oversee the management, operation, maintenance, and finances of Park Vista. The Board enters into an operating agreement with City Council and enlists a management company to operate the facility. The Board, composed of five members, all El Segundo residents (per bylaws), serve without compensation for four year terms, without term limits. 

Date: The Commission meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month.

Time: 7:00 p.m.
Location: Park Vista, 615 E. Holly Avenue
Staff Liaison: Arecia Hester, Recreation Superintendent, 310-524-2702

Listen to meeting audio here.

Board Members
Paul Lanyi President
Martin Stone Vice President
Paula Rotolo CFO
Jim Latta Board Member
Patricia Gerber Board Member


Gateway Committee 

The Gateway Committee was formed to facilitate improvements at the entrance to El Segundo at Main Street and Imperial Highway.

Date: Coming soon 
Time: Coming soon 
Location: City Hall, 350 Main St.
Staff Liaison: Christopher Hentzen, Park Maintenance Superintendent 310-524-2716

Lily Craig  Brenda Newman
Frank Glynn George Renfro
Marsha Hansen Barbara Voss
Christopher Hentzen  Julie Stolnack
Jay Hoeschler Cristina Reveles